Windies lose ninth straight ODI to B’desh

Windies lose ninth straight ODI to B’desh


West Indies crashed to their ninth straight one-day international (ODI) defeat to Bangladesh yesterday, paying dearly for an ordinary batting effort on a sticky wicket at the Guyana National Stadium.

Mustering only 149 for nine in a contest reduced to 41 overs per side after rain delayed the start by just more than two hours, West Indies then watched as the Tigers chased down the small target with 55 balls to spare, sending them to a six-wicket loss in the opening ODI.

For the hosts, it was their first defeat of the multi-format tour after sweeping the Tests and winning the three-match Twenty20 International series 2-0.

“In hindsight it (total) was definitely not enough, but in saying that, it was difficult to get more to be honest, batting first on that track,” captain Nicholas Pooran, who scored 18 on the day, said.

“The last wicket [of Anderson Phillip and Jayden Seales] putting on a partnership showed that the guys have a lot of fight in them and it gave us a chance to go out and try to defend this total.

“I think we should have started better in the power-play [when we bowled], especially after getting that first wicket. I think if we got one more wicket in that power-play, then that makes the game very interesting.”

Shamarh Brooks top-scored with 33 but the knock required 66 deliveries and tail-ender Phillip was the only other player to make more than 20 with an unbeaten 21.

Left-arm seamer Shoriful Islam was superb with four for 34 while off-spinner Mehidy Hasan, adjudged Man of the Match, supported with three for 36.

In reply, Mahmudullah struck an unbeaten 41 off 69 balls, while Najmul Hossain (37) and captain Tamim Iqbal (33) chipped in to ensure Bangladesh broke their losing streak on tour.

“I think the wicket was difficult, honestly. I think it was difficult for both the teams,” Tamim said.

“Luckily we won the toss. That was the best part of today’s game.

“Sometimes when you’re getting a lot of help from the wicket you can be a bit too greedy which we didn’t [do] … so it was very pleasing to see the bowling effort.”



K Mayers b Mehidy Hasan 10

+S Hope b Mustafizur Rahman 0

S Brooks c wkp Nurul Hasan b

Shoriful Islam 33

B King c sub (Anamul Haque) b

Shoriful Islam 8

*N Pooran b Mehidy Hasan 18

R Powell lbw b Mehidy Hasan 9

R Shepherd c Afif Hossain b Shoriful Islam 15

A Hosein run out 3

G Motie c Mehidy Hasan b Shoriful Islam 7

A Phillip not out 21

J Seales not out 16

Extras (lb4, w4, nb1) 9

TOTAL (9 wkts, 41 overs) 149

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-32, 3-55, 4-55, 5-74, 6-91, 7-96, 8-110, 9-110.

Bowling: Nasum Ahmed 8-3-16-0 (w1), Mustafizur Rahman 8-0-34-1, Mehidy Hasan 9-2-36-3, Taskin Ahmed 8-0-25-0 (w3), Shoriful Islam 8-1-34-4 (nb1)


*Tamim Iqbal run out 33

Litton Das lbw b Hosein 1

Najmul Hossain c Pooran b Motie 37

Mahmudullah not out 41

Afif Hossain c Phillip b Pooran 9

+Nurul Hossain not out 20

Extras (w8, nb2) 10

TOTAL (4 wkts, 31.5 overs) 151

Did not bat: Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-49, 3-98, 4-111

Bowling: Hosein 8-0-43-1 (w3), Seales 3.5-0-26-0, Phillip 2-0-15-0, Shepherd 2-0-10-0 (w3), Motie 9-1-18-1 (w1), Pooran 7-0-39-1 (w1, nb2)

Result: Bangladesh won by six wickets.

Series: Bangladesh lead three-match series 1-0.

Man-of-the-Match: Mehidy Hasan

Toss: Bangladesh.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson; TV – Nigel Duguid

Source link